Judges' wishes

As a professional designer, would you please tell us what your favorite design work is and why you like it?

Our participants are mostly students so as a senior of the design industry, do you have any suggestions for how to improve themselves as designers?

  • Song
    Kee Hong
    The design field is so broad today with almost unlimited opportunities and potential, whether in growing businesses or bridging social divides. The field has never been so exciting and dynamic, we should keep on learning and exploring across design or even non-design disciplines to forge our skill set and experience.
  • Sebastian
    Bergne
    As a student it is important to find your voice as a designer. Discover what makes you special so that you have something to offer an employer or the design world that they can’t find in anyone else. The best way to experiment is to take as many risks as possible. When they succeed, they will push you forward quickly, and when you fail, you will learn from your mistake.
  • Tong
    Huiming
    Firstly, it is important to have a solid foundation of professional ability in design, which means you have to be skillful in designing. Secondly, you need to have a broad knowledge, especially in technology, economy, society, and humanity. There are two factors but we call it, ‘T— type construction capability’, as the scale of the ‘T’ might vary from person to person, but the longer any part is, the more capable and better you are.
  • Damjan
    Stankovic
    College is a perfect moment for young designers to work on their own projects either during college time with the help and guidance of their professors, or outside the college time later in their career, they will have less time for this. They will often have to make compromises with technology, schedules, deadlines, clients or team members in their career. Working on your personal project is definitely the way for you to show what you are made of, what you feel looks nice, and in general, show the full potential of your design personality.
  • Cai Jun
    College is very important to them. Modeling ability, training and expression of beauty-appreciation, how to bring your ideas to a sketch, to life, all of these are the basic abilities to be a designer. Only being proficient in that, can make you have a further development. After that, it’s the training of creativity. Not just solid foundation, a successful designer need to be creative when designing. That includes think broadly, the curiosity and comprehension of life, broad knowledge accumulation. All of these need the love of life. Only combine those abilities and the basis of design can inspire your design creativity and improve in an all-round way.

Artificial intelligence is the fastest growing trend in the current design and technology society, what changes do you think it will bring to us? As well, how will it affect the industrial design field?

As a judge for the TechINK award 2017, what advice do you have for potential participants?

  • Sebastian
    Bergne
    Grab the opportunity that this competition gives you with both hands, but please be clear about why you are proposing your design. Remember, just because technology allows you to do something, doesn’t mean you should.
  • Tong
    Huiming
    Be original, and create unexpected ideas from nothing.
  • Damjan
    Stankovic
    This will be a repeat but please find time for your own projects and try to bring them to life.
  • Cai Jun
    TechINK award is the first industrial design competition with the theme of “home smart home - smart technology creates better home” in China. It gathers the exploration and conceiving of a new generation of industrial designers. It’ll be definitely echoed around the world! As a judge of this competition, I’m looking forward to an innovative work, which can break the routine, think and explore a practical way for using AI in our daily life. Create a new type of product and build an intelligent service mode.

名师寄语

作为一名专业的设计师,您能分享一下您最喜欢的设计作品及原因吗?

我们的参赛者大多是初入设计行业的学生,作为一位设计师,您对他们有什么建议吗?

  • Song
    Kee Hong
    如今设计所涵盖的部分是很广的,不论是在帮助企业增长,或是减少社会分化上,它有着无尽的潜力。这个领域从未如此令人激动并富有活力,我们应当通过对设计甚至是非设计领域的不断学习和探索,来锻炼自己的能力并丰富自己的经验。
  • Sebastian
    Bergne
    对学生而言,如何作为一名设计者发声是一件很重要的事情。发现令你自己变得特别的东西,才能让雇主或整个设计界认识到其他人无法取而代之的你。最好的办法是尽可能地冒险。若成功了,这些会推动你迅速成长。若失败了,你也会从中学到些东西。
  • 童慧明
    第一,扎实的设计专业功力(过人的“手头功夫”);第二,宽广的知识视野(科技、经济、社会、人文),两者构成的“T 型人才结构”,前者为一竖,后者为一横。两者的长短比例虽因人而异,但任一边越长意味着你覆盖的面积越大、人才越优秀。
  • Damjan
    Stankovic
    大学是年轻设计师们钻研自己作品的最佳时期,因为你有充足的时间,并且有教授的帮助与指导。工作之后,能够做设计的时间就会变少。同样,你也会因职业生涯中所遇到各种方面的问题,比如技术、行程、截稿期、客户或小组成员方面等,做出让步。设计属于你自己的作品无疑是自我能力、潜力,体现设计个性的最好展现。
  • 蔡军
    对任何一个学习设计专业的学生来说,无论是产品设计、视觉传达设计还是其他设计专业而言,大学本科的学习阶段都是非常重要的,专业基础的构建犹如大厦的地基,只有挖得越深、基础打得越扎实,大厦才能建的越高。对于设计师来说最基础的造型能力、对美的视觉感觉的训练和表达、对自己的创意如何从脑子里的构想变成纸面上的表达,再转化为可以实现的形态和有功能的产品,并通过工艺和制造来实现,这个过程是设计师最基础的能力。只有掌握好这个能力才有可能更上一层的发展。在基础之上的就是创意能力的训练,成功的设计师不仅有扎实的基础,更重要的是设计思维的创新能力,这其中包括思维发散、对生活的好奇和悟性、广泛知识积累,这一切都脱离不了对生活的热爱!只有这些能力和设计基础的整合才能够激发设计创意的全面提高。

AI技术是未来科技的主要趋势之一,您觉得AI会对人们的生活带来哪些变化?同时会对工业及产品设计领域产生什么样的影响?

作为钛墨奖的评委,您有什么建议对那些有潜力的参赛者们说的?

  • Sebastian
    Bergne
    抓住机会,因为这次比赛能带给你的是多方面的。但请弄清你为何设计该产品,记住,因为技术能让你做些什么,但这并不意味着你应当这样做。
  • 童慧明
    坚持原创,挖掘从 0 到 1 的颠覆性创新构想。
  • Damjan
    Stankovic
    这个我已经说过了但是:请为属于你自己的产品多花些时间,尽自己最大努力将其变为现实。
  • 蔡军
    “钛墨奖”国际大学生工业设计比赛是中国首次以“智能科技创造美好家居”的主题竞赛,它聚集了中国创新一代科技探索者聚焦工业设计在AI领域的探索构想,也是跨越传统工业设计领域的设计竞赛而在人工智能方向扩展智能生活创新的重要尝试, 它必将在国内外引起重要的反响!作为本届比赛的评委, 我期待参赛选手们拿出最具创新和突破的创意概念和设计作品,可以打破常规、突破传统的束缚,重在思考和探索AI在生活中的运用和可行方式,构建新一代的产品和智能服务模式!也期待本届大赛成为中国及国际大学生新兴科技与设计融合探索的新坐标!